Image of Anuradha Sharma Pujari is not available
star nullstar nullstar nullstar nullstar null


Anuradha Sharma Pujari (Assamese: ??????? ????? ??????)is an influential Assamese journalist and author. She is the editor or Sadin and Satsori. Her contributions to Assamese literature include fiction and essays. She is editor of the Assamese monthly magazine Satsari and the highest circulated Assamese weekly SAADIN . She lives in Panjabari, Guwahati. Her first novel is Hriday Ek Bigyapan, which became popular among the youth of Assam.

Early Life

Born in Jorhat, she studied sociology at the Dibrugarh University, and journalism at the Birla Institute of Liberal Arts and Management Science, Kolkata. She gained popularity with her column in Letters from Kolkata in Asom Bani weekly and fame with her novel The Heart's a Showbiz. First published in 1998, it was hailed by Homen Borgohain as a contemporary classic. His review said it raised some basic questions about modern Assamese life that no other writer had raised before. The novel went on to printings of 14 editions, granting her an unparalleled critical and commercial success.

Professional Career

The author was the guest of honour at National bravery award presentation hosted by the Indian Council for Child Welfare, Assam, in collaboration with Ladies' and Children's Recreation Centre and the Kamrup District Council for Child Welfare at Hem Sishu Sadan in Guwahati. Anuradha Sharma Pujari?s Hridoi Ek Bigyapan was, along with Amritjyoti Mahanta's first novel Adhagara Mahanogoror Probashi, one of only two novels in Assamese "that deals with the glamorous world of media and communication in all its complexities".

Anuradha Sarma Pujari has been called "one of the most popular writers of this generation", and her work described as traversing "the varied textures of human conflict" and covering the tension between the society and the individual including explorations of femininity and "the gaps that exist between people in a relationship".


Kumar Kishore Memorial Literary Award, from Asom Sahitya Sabha, 2003. ..