Image of Harekrishna Meher is not available
star nullstar nullstar nullstar nullstar null

Harekrishna Meher

Born in May 5, 1956 / India / Hindi

Harekrishna Meher poet from India was born on May 5, 1956 has 67 years. Poems were written mainly in Hindi language. Dominant movement is other.


Dr. Harekrishna Meher is a Sanskrit scholar, researcher, creative writer, critic, poet, lyricist, composer of songs, orator and translator. He writes in Sanskrit, English, Hindi, Oriya and Koshali languages. His research articles, scholarly essays and poems published in the leading journals and magazines of national and international levels.

Harekrishna Meher was born at Sinapali, Nuapara District of Orissa in a renowned poetic family. His father was Poet Narayan Bharasa Meher and mother Smt. Sumati Meher. His grandfather Poet Manohar Meher is regarded as 'Ganakavi' of Western Orissa. He has excellent qualifications being topper in his career: B.A (Sanskrit Honours) from Ravenshaw College, Utkal University; M.A.(Sanskrit) and Ph.D. from Banaras Hindu University.

Joining Orissa Education Service (OES) in 1981 as Lecturer in Sanskrit, he served in Govt.Panchayat College Bargarh and Fakir Mohan College Balasore. Recently he was Sr. Reader and Head of the Department of Sanskrit in Govt. Autonomous College, Bhawanipatna. Presently teaches at Post-Graduate Department of Sanskrit, Gangadhar Meher Autonomous College, Sambalpur, Orissa.

Dr. Meher writes articles and poems in the field of literature, music and language. He is a well-known creative lyricist of Modern Sanskrit Literature. His endeavours for simplification and modernization of Sanskrit language are appreciable. His tri-lingual (Hindi, English and Sanskrit) translations of Gangadhar Meher's Tapasvini Kavya are remarkable. He has participated in literary workshops, seminars and conferences of state, national and international levels including World Sanskrit Conferences. He has published some books of poetic merit and research.

Literary Awards

Gangadhar Samman (2002)
Gangadhar Saraswat Samman (2002)
Jayakrishna Mishra Kavya Samman (2003)
Vidyaratna Pratibha Samman (2005)
Award of Appreciation (Jayadeva Utsav-2008, Odissi Akademi, New Delhi)
Gangadhar Samman - Ashok Chandan Smruti Puraskar(2009)
Acharya Prafulla Chandra Roy Smarak Samman (2010) : By Academy of Bengali Poetry, Kolkata-700054.
Haripriya Mund Memorial Gangadhar Meher Samman (2010)
Dr. Nilamadhab Panigrahi Samman (2010) : By Sambalpur University, Jyoti Vihar, Orissa. ..