Image of Larry Levis is not available
star nullstar nullstar nullstar nullstar null

Born in 1946 / Died in 1996 / United States / English


Other info : Career | Furtherreading


  • Wrecking Crew, University of Pittsburgh Press (Pittsburgh, PA), 1972.
  • The Rain's Witness (pamphlet), Southwick Press, 1975.
  • The Afterlife, University of Iowa Press (Iowa City, IA), 1977.
  • (With Marcia Southwick) The Leopard's Mouth Is Dry and Cold Inside (prose poems, seven by Levis and seven by Southwick), Gentile (St. Louis, MO), 1980.
  • The Dollmaker's Ghost, Dutton (New York, NY), 1981.
  • Sensationalism, Corycian (Iowa City, IA), 1982.
  • Winter Stars, University of Pittsburgh Press, 1985.
  • The Widening Spell of the Leaves, University of Pittsburgh Press, 1991.
  • Black Freckles, Peregrine Books (Salt Lake City), 1992.
  • Elegy, University of Pittsburgh Press, 1997.
  • The Selected Levis, University of Pittsburgh Press (Pittsburgh, PA), 2000.
  • The Gazer Within, University of Michigan Press (Ann Arbor, MI), 2001.


  • Co-editor of Missouri Review, 1977-80. Contributor to Field Guide to Contemporary Poetry and Poetics, edited by Stuart Friebert and David Young, Longman (New York, NY), 1980. Contributor to American Poetry Review, Field, Poetry, Antioch Review, New Yorker, Ploughshares, and other publications. Sound recordings of Levis include an October, 1977, broadcast on the radio program "New Letters on the Air," Kansas City, MO; and, with Thylias Moss, a February 14, 1991 recording made in the Montpelier Room at the Library of Congress, Washington, DC.